Social network for scholars

Join the network and explore the world of integrated research

Prof. Akhilesh K Tyagi

Created By: Link


Professor Akhilesh K. Tyagi, Professor and JC Bose National Fellow, University of Delhi South Campus, New Delhi and President, National Academy of Sciences, India. Prof Akhilesh Tyagi, a leading plant biologist working in the area of genomics and biotechnology at University of Delhi, led first successful Indian initiatives on genome-wide sequencing in rice, tomato and desi chickpea, heralding the era of high throughput genomics in India. Pioneering contributions have been made to the area of neo-/sub-functionalization of gene families during evolution, water-deficit response and grain development in rice. This work is highly relevant to understand gene function, evolution and crop improvement. His dedication to higher education, research and to nurture leadership and institutions is well known. In recognition of his contributions, Prof Tyagi received JC Bose National Fellowship Award, National Bioscience Award, NASI-Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee Award, Bhasin Award for Science and Technology, GM Modi Award for Innovative Science and Technology and Birbal Sahni Medal, among others. He is Fellow of national science academies (FNA, FASc, FNASc, FNAAS) and The World Academy of Sciences and served as President, National Academy of Sciences, India and Director, National Institute of Plant Genome Research

  • Head, Department Of Plant Molecular Biology

    1992- 1995

    University of Delhi,New Delhi

  • Chair Of The Board Of Research Studies

    1995- 2003

    University of Delhi,New Delhi

  • Director, Interdisciplinary Centre For Plant Genomics

    2005- 2009

    University of Delhi,New Delhi

  • Director

    2009- 2016

    National Institute Of Plant Genome Research, New Delhi

  • Executive Director-in-charge

    2013- 2016

    National Agri-food Biotechnology Institute,Mohali

  • President

    2015- 2016

    National Academy Of Sciences, Allahabad


  • Ph.D.

    1978 To 1983

    University of Delhi,New Delhi


  • GM Modi Award for Innovative Science & Technology, 2017

  • SN Patnaik Memorial Lecture Award, Utkal University, Bhubneswar, 2016

  • APJ Abdul Kalam Lecture Award, Jiwaji University, Gwalior, 2016